X

School of Sciences

Go back to Homepage

MSc Computing

Overview

Available for January 2022 Entry

 

Computing-related technology, such a new mobile devices and applications are changing the way we communicate, do business and access news and entertainment. The MSc in Computing offers opportunities, to achieve professional certifications through specific modules: The Cisco CCNA1 exam can be taken after attending the Network Communications & Routing module and the Associate Android Developer exam after attending the Mobile Application Development module.

SPECIALISATIONS:

> IT Security & Networking
> Mobile & Web Development
> IT Management in Business

The MSc in Computing provides students with an opportunity to develop generic computing skills that can be applied in all walks of life as well as the skills and understanding needed to develop software systems.

Students will develop transferable skills in the evaluation of ideas and concepts, effective communication, synthesis of ideas and become reflective practitioners. The aims of the course are to provide an opportunity for the students to plan, undertake and evaluate a substantial computing Project; to develop the students’ critical evaluation, communication and self-management skills to a level appropriate for post-graduate students; and to encourage and enable the students to become reflective and research-aware practitioners.

Click here to download the latest factsheet.

Career Options

This course, building on the intellectual skills of a computing or technology-related degree, enhances students’ employment prospects in the IT field, and further develops the skills they obtained in their Undergraduate degree. The skills acquired can lead to a range of careers in computing specialisations that are in high demand even outside the technology sector, such as networks and IT security.

READ MORE

Dr Josephina Antoniou

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR IN COMPUTING AND COURSE LEADER OF MSC COMPUTING


JAntoniou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694094

READ MORE

Dr Nearchos Paspallis

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR IN COMPUTING AND COURSE LEADER OF BSC (HONS) COMPUTING


NPaspallis@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694091

READ MORE

Dr Panayiotis Andreou

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR IN COMPUTING AND COURSE LEADER OF MSC DATA ANALYTICS


PGAndreou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694085

READ MORE

Dr Eliana Stavrou

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR IN CYBERSECURITY AND COURSE LEADER OF MSC CYBERSECURITY


EStavrou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694077

READ MORE

Dr Andreas Savva

LECTURER IN COMPUTING


ASavva3@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694034

READ MORE

Mr Antonis Savva

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN COMPUTING


ANSavva@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

MR PHILIPPOS DEMETRIOU

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN COMPUTING


PDemetriou2@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

DR GABRIEL PANIS

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN COMPUTING


gpanis@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mrs Louiza Sophocleous

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN MATHEMATICS AND ENGINEERING


LSophocleous@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Dr Stella Kitromilidou

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN MATHEMATICS AND STATISTICS


SKitromilidou@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Prof. Irene Polycarpou

PROFESSOR OF TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION IN EDUCATION AND HEAD OF SCHOOL OF SCIENCES


IPolycarpou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694048