X

School of Sciences

Go back to Homepage

BSc (Hons) Computing

Overview

Available for October 2021 Entry

Computing is a creative activity which applies appropriate technology to the solution of problems. Computing professionals are involved in the investigation and analysis of problems, the design and evaluation of feasible solutions and the implementation of cost-effective ways of meeting user needs. They must communicate with a wide range of people (managers, users and colleagues) and be aware of the business implications of the decisions made. Our students learn how to keep up with the latest tools and techniques and practice their application to real-world problems. SPECIALISMS > Software Engineering > Computer Games Development > Network Technology Each pathway contains all the compulsory modules and a selection of the options from the corresponding course offered at UCLan Preston: BSc (Hons) in Software Engineering, BSc (Hons) in Computer Games Development and BSc (Hons) in Computer Network Technology. All these programmes have accreditation leading to MBCS (Member of British Computing Society), CITP (Chartered IT Professional) and partial CEng (Chartered Engineer) exemption from the British Computer Society, the UK professional body for computing. The course is recognised by the Cyprus Technical and Scientific Chamber (ETEK). LINK WITH PROFESSIONAL BODIES Course Graduates are eligible to register to the Cyprus Scientific and Technical Chamber (ETEK). BCS ACCREDITATION This degree has been accredited by the British Computing Society (BCS), the chartered institute for information technology (IT). The BCS is committed to making IT good for society. This accreditation is a mark of assurance that the BSc (Hons) Computing degree offered at UCLan Cyprus entitles our graduates to professional membership of the BCS, which is an important part of the criteria for achieving Chartered IT Professional (CITP) status. Some employers recruit preferentially from accredited degrees, and an accredited degree is likely to be recognised by other countries that are signatories to international accords. Download the latest factsheet here. Learn More  

Career Options

A range of careers opens to students upon completion of their degree. These include roles in business requirements analysis, design and development of database-backed systems, development of web and mobile applications, computer games development, system testing and management, wired and wireless networks management, network security, and many more. Moreover, the broad skills that our students acquire enable them to remain competitive in the fast evolving area of computing technology.

READ MORE

Dr Nearchos Paspallis

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR IN COMPUTING AND COURSE LEADER OF BSC (HONS) COMPUTING


NPaspallis@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694091

READ MORE

Dr Andriani Piki

LECTURER IN COMPUTING AND DEPUTY COURSE LEADER OF BSC (HONS) COMPUTING


APiki@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694067

READ MORE

Dr Louis Nisiotis

LECTURER IN COMPUTING AND COURSE LEADER OF BSC (HONS) COMPUTING


lnisiotis@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694144

READ MORE

Dr Panayiotis Andreou

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR IN COMPUTING AND COURSE LEADER OF MSC DATA ANALYTICS


PGAndreou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694085

READ MORE

Dr Eliana Stavrou

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR IN CYBERSECURITY AND COURSE LEADER OF MSC CYBERSECURITY


EStavrou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694077

READ MORE

Dr Josephina Antoniou

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR IN COMPUTING AND COURSE LEADER OF MSC COMPUTING


JAntoniou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694094

READ MORE

Dr Andreas Savva

LECTURER IN COMPUTING


ASavva3@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694034

READ MORE

Dr Andreas Pamboris

LECTURER IN COMPUTING


APamboris@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694046

READ MORE

DR GABRIEL PANIS

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN COMPUTING


gpanis@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mr Giannos Michael

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN COMPUTING


GMichael2@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Dr Andri Kanikli

LECTURER IN LINGUISTICS AND COURSE LEADER OF BA (HONS) ENGLISH LANGUAGE STUDIES


AKanikli@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694069

READ MORE

Dr Christina Savvidou

Associate Lecturer in Mathematics


csavvidou@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

MR PHILIPPOS DEMETRIOU

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN COMPUTING


PDemetriou2@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mr Antonis Savva

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN COMPUTING


ANSavva@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mrs Maria Georgiou

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN GENERAL ENGLISH LANGUAGE


MGeorgiou6@uclan.ac.uk