X

School of Business and Management

Go back to Homepage

BA (Hons) English Language & Literature

Overview

Available for January 2022 Entry

English Language & Literature at the only British University in Cyprus

Our English Language & Literature degree offers linguistic and literary perspectives on the study of English. You will be working with a range of materials, including classic literary texts as well as popular media texts such as advertisements, descriptions, analysis and interpretation of data, thus developing great skills for the workplace. You will cover a range of topics on how language works both structurally and persuasively and also how language is used in its various literary, social and cultural contexts for effect. We offer a mix of traditional and innovative subject choices and consider new ways of thinking about English Language & Literature. You will be taught the processes of language through grammar and syntax, and you will also have the opportunity to study modules in stylistics. In addition to “literary greats” such as Shakespeare and Dickens, you will learn about contemporary fairy tales and film. Click here to download the latest factsheet.  

Modules

Student Experience

Current students and alumni of BA (Hons) English Language & Literature answer many interesting questions regarding their studies at the only British University of Cyprus and explain how the programme enabled them to develop their personality and pursue their professional goals.

Career Options

The course is intended for students wishing to pursue a career in teaching or professional writing in a range of industries such as publishing, advertising, journalism, theatre, law and the public service.  It helps them improve their literacy, develop profound knowledge, gain research and analysis abilities and enhance their oral and written communication skills. Our graduates go into a wide range of occupations such as teaching, publishing, journalism, arts administration, law, advertising and theatre.

READ MORE

Dr Andri Kanikli

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR IN LINGUISTICS AND COURSE LEADER OF BA (HONS) ENGLISH LANGUAGE & LITERATURE


AKanikli@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694069

READ MORE

Dr Andria Michael

LECTURER IN ENGLISH AND COMPARATIVE LITERATURE AND DEPUTY COURSE LEADER OF BA (HONS) ENGLISH STUDIES


amichael4@uclan.ac.uk

+ 357 24694000

READ MORE

Dr Elena Kkese

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN ENGLISH STUDIES/LINGUISTICS


EKkese@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

READ MORE

Dr Olga Michael

LECTURER IN ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE


OMichael@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694038

READ MORE

Dr Svetlana Elioglou

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN THE RUSSIAN LANGUAGE AND CULTURE


SElioglou@uclan.ac.uk

+ 357 24694000

READ MORE

Ms Evdokia Elia

Associate Lecturer in French


EElia@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mrs Dimitra Dimitriou

Associate Lecturer in Linguistics/English Studies


DDimitriou4@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Dr George Georgiou

Associate Lecturer in Linguistics


ggeorgiou9@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

READ MORE

Dr Marianna Kyriakou

Associate Lecturer in Linguistics


MKyriacou9@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

READ MORE

Dr Charis Charalambous

Associate Lecturer


CCharalambous4@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

READ MORE

Ms Christiana Akrita

Greek Language Teacher


CAkrita1@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

English Language & Literature organises many events every year and the course team are involved in many research activities that enrich our students’ learning experience. Please find below a list of the events and activities that the course organised this year. Click on the links provided to find out more about each event/activity.

Find More Events Here