X

School of Business and Management

Go back to Homepage

BA (Hons) Accounting and Finance

Overview

Available for October 2021 Entry  


 

This degree covers all main areas of accounting and finance in terms of practical application and critical appraisal. It is designed for those wishing to pursue a career as a professional, Chartered Accountant, but also suitable for those wishing to pursue other careers in professional accounting qualifications, finance, or business management. The programme is therefore an excellent choice for those wishing to follow Accountancy, as it offers a blend of theoretical and practical application, combined with accreditation from professional accounting bodies and exposure to a broader knowledge of finance, which is relevant to a wide range of other business careers.

If you wish to pursue a professional accounting qualification, you will receive partial exemption from the professional accounting bodies examinations. In each year of the course, you will study a combina­tion of accounting and finance modules, as well as modules supplemented by other disciplines [such as economics, business law and mathematics). This programme is aligned with ACCA, CIMA and ICAEW, and in doing so a minimum 40% pass mark for ACCA and CIMA, and 50% pass mark for ICAEW for each module is required for the student to qualify for these professional exemptions.

The BA (Hons) Accounting and Finance of UCLan Cyprus presents its unique partnership with the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), which is the globally reputed professional accounting body offering the Chartered Certified Accountant professional qualification. Through this partnership the students that register with the UCLan Cyprus BA (Hons) Accounting and Finance programme, will be automatically awarded, upon enrolment, with 9 exemptions from ACCAs Fundamental Papers, provided that they complete successfully their undergraduate studies in the programme. This unique privilege gives our students the opportunity to start, along with their university studies, the professional papers of the ACCA qualification. This opportuni­ty makes them more competitive in the marketplace, as it gives them the space to complete both their BA [Hons) Accounting and Finance and their ACCA qualification in four years or shortly after.

Click here to download the latest factsheet.

Accreditation / Link with Professional Bodies

The award is accredited for ACCA (9 exemptions), CIMA (8 exemptions) and ICAEW (8 exemptions).

The unique partnership with the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) provides significant privileges and opportunities for the students of the programme – find out more here.

Watch the following videos to learn more about the experiences of our proud BA (Hons) Accounting and Finance alumni, Filippos Ioannou and Arij Ejledi, at UCLan Cyprus.

Career Options

Graduates who combine accounting and finance literacy with a broad appreciation of business economic issues are highly sought after by employers. This degree programme also provides a strong foundation for graduates seeking to enter other business and managerial functions (e.g. managing directors, consultants to private organisations and international organisations such as the World Bank, OECD and the EU), as well as related occupations such as insurance and banking, which have a strong business presence in Cyprus. High calibre graduates from the Programme also have the opportunity to consider applying for an academic career in accounting by pursuing Postgraduate and doctoral studies.

READ MORE

Dr Ioanna Stylianou

Assistant Professor in Statistics and Economics and Deputy Head of School of Business and Management


IStylianou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694090

READ MORE

Dr Christina Savvidou

Associate Lecturer in Mathematics


csavvidou@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Ms Christina Markou

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN MATHEMATICS


CMarkou1@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mrs Maria Georgiou

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN GENERAL ENGLISH LANGUAGE


MGeorgiou6@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Dr Loukas Glyptis

HEAD OF SCHOOL OF BUSINESS & MANAGEMENT & ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ACCOUNTING


LGlyptis@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694102

READ MORE

Dr Anthi Avloniti

LECTURER IN BUSINESS AND MANAGEMENT, COURSE LEADER OF MBA DL


AAvloniti@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694029

READ MORE

Dr Isabella Karasamani

LECTURER IN FINANCE & COURSE LEADER IN ACCOUNTING AND FINANCE


IKarasamani@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694101

READ MORE

Dr Irina Lokhtina

LECTURER IN HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AND LEADERSHIP & DEPUTY COURSE LEADER OF BA (HONS) BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION


ILokhtina@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694014

READ MORE

Mr Demetris Koutsoftas

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN AUDIT AND TAX


DKoutsoftas@uclan.ac.uk

+ 357 24694000

READ MORE

Ms Vasilia Ftellecha

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN LAW


VFtellecha@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

READ MORE

Dr Fanos Tekelas

LECTURER IN INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP/ DIRECTOR OF CEDAR/ COURSE LEADER OF BA(HONS) BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION


Ftekelas1@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694147

READ MORE

Mrs Koulia Petridou

Associate Lecturer in Corporate Finance


kpetridou@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mr Andreas Andreou

Associate Lecturer in Accounting and Finance


AAndreou10@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mr Trifonas Kyriacou

Lecturer in Strategic Management, Audit


TKyriacou1@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Mrs Georgia Ypermachou

Associate Lecturer in Management Accounting and Control Systems


GYpermachou@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Dr Christiana Anaxagorou

Lecturer in Economics and Statistics


canaxagorou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694076

READ MORE

Mr George Charalambous

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN FINANCIAL REPORTING


GCharalambous3@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Ms Marina Magidou

Lecturer in Accounting and Finance


MMagidou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694058

READ MORE

Dr Maria Tatsiou

Lecturer in Financial and Corporate Law


MTatsiou@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694028

READ MORE

Mrs Terpsithea Christou

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN MANAGEMENT AND ACCOUNTING INFORMATION SYSTEMS


TChristou1@uclan.ac.uk

+357 96 752169