X

School of Business and Management

Go back to Homepage

BA (Hons) English Language Studies

Overview

Find out more about this programme and why we are a truly life-changing University! Explore UCLan’s Cyprus Campus virtually, talk face-to-face online with our experienced Admissions Advisors, book your one-to-one online meeting with the Academic Leader of the programme of study of your choice, all within the comfort of your home. Book your place here.

Available for January 2021 Entry

Our English Language Studies degree offers linguistic and literary perspectives on the study of English. You will be working with a range of materials, including classic literary texts as well as popular media texts such as advertisements, descriptions, analysis and interpretation of data, thus developing great skills for the workplace.

You will cover a range of topics on how language works both structurally and persuasively and also how language is used in its various literary, social and cultural contexts for effect. We offer a mix of traditional and innovative subject choices and consider new ways of thinking about English Language & Literature. You will be taught the processes of language through grammar and syntax and you will also have the opportunity to study modules in stylistics, education and language. In addition to “literary greats” such as Shakespeare and Dickens, you will learn about contemporary fairy tales and film.

Click here to download the latest factsheet.

Modules

Career Options

This course is intended for students wishing to pursue a career in professional writing in a range of industries such as publishing, travel and tourism, advertising, public relations and the public service.

It helps them to improve their literacy, develop profound knowledge, gain research and analysis abilities/experience and enhance their oral and written communication skills. Our graduates can go into a wide range of occupations/careers such as law, teaching, journalism, publishing, arts administration, theatre, advertising, manufacturing and finance.

READ MORE

Dr Andri Kanikli

LECTURER IN LINGUISTICS, COURSE LEADER OF BA (HONS) ENGLISH LANGUAGE STUDIES


AKanikli@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694069

READ MORE

Dr Andria Michael

LECTURER IN ENGLISH AND COMPARATIVE LITERATURE, DEPUTY COURSE LEADER OF BA (HONS) ENGLISH STUDIES


amichael4@uclan.ac.uk

+ 357 24694000

READ MORE

Dr Olga Michael

LECTURER IN ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE


OMichael@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694038

READ MORE

Dr Charis Charalambous

Associate Lecturer in English Literature


CCharalambous4@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

READ MORE

Mrs Dimitra Dimitriou

Associate Lecturer in Linguistics/English Studies


DDimitriou4@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Ms Evdokia Elia

Associate Lecturer in French


EElia@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Dr Svetlana Elioglou

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN THE RUSSIAN LANGUAGE AND CULTURE


SElioglou@uclan.ac.uk

+ 357 24694000

READ MORE

Dr George Georgiou

Associate Lecturer in Linguistics


ggeorgiou9@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

READ MORE

Mr Christos Kalli

Associate Lecturer in General English


CKalli@uclan.ac.uk

READ MORE

Dr Elena Kkese

ASSOCIATE LECTURER IN ENGLISH STUDIES/LINGUISTICS


EKkese@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

READ MORE

Dr Marianna Kyriakou

Associate Lecturer in Linguistics


MKyriacou9@uclan.ac.uk

+357 24694000

Downloadthe latest Prospectus

Download Now